The good and the bad

How has technology changed your job?

As a blind person technology is a huge part of my day to day life. I’m writing this from my iPhone where my text is large and where I have d a screen reading program at my fingertips. Should I want to, I can switch over to my laptop with a screen reading program as well ready for my use.

While these things help in my day to day I would be lieing if I said it had been helpful with a career. Often blindness text is behind the mainstream stuff. Dishes often visit and then suddenly you can’t use a program.

I would love to say this levels the playing field, the technology but we are long way off.

It helps though! My talking kitchen scale helps my fitness. My Apple Watch monitors my heart rate when I workout. The screen reader on my iPhone helps me access my peloton app and Stack my classes. Potpoayer reads subtitles so I can watch undubbed anime. We have a long way to go but if we didn’t have wish we do now, lots would be unusable.

Leave a comment